CFA welcomes new leaders at Spring Assembly

Delegates to CFA’s 85th Assembly elected a new panel of officers, members to the Board of Directors during the union’s meeting in San Diego on March 10-11.

The newly-elected Board, which includes officers, committee chairs, and council representatives, will serve a two-year term, from June 1, 2017 through May 31, 2019.

President: Jennifer Eagan (East Bay)
Vice President: Charles Toombs (San Diego)
Secretary: Kevin Wehr (Sacramento)

Treasurer: Susan Green (Chico)

Associate Vice President: North, Rafael Gomez (Monterey Bay)

Associate Vice President: South, Molly Talcott (Los Angeles)
Associate Vice President Lecturers–North: Jonathan Karpf (San Jose)
Associate Vice President Lecturers–South: Leslie Bryan (San Bernardino)
Associate Vice President, Affirmative Action: Cecil Canton (Sacramento)

Committee Chairs
Contract Development/Bargaining Strategy: Antonio Gallo (Northridge)
Counselors: Mimi Bommersbach (Chico)

Librarians: Paul Kaupilla (San Jose)
Membership & Organizing: Dorothy DD Wills (Pomona)
Political Acton/Legislation: Lillian Taiz (Los Angeles)
Representation: David Bradfield (Dominguez Hills)

Retired Faculty, George Diehr (San Marcos)

Council Representatives
Lecturer Representatives: Karen Davis (Monterey Bay) and Chris Cruz-Boone (Bakersfield)
Affirmative Action Representatives: Erma Jean Sims (Sonoma) and Sharon Elise (San Marcos)
Chapter Presidents Representatives: Elaine Newman (Sonoma),
Steven Filling (Stanislaus),
Nate Thomas (Northridge), Darel Engen (San Marcos)

Council representatives to the Contract Development & Bargaining Strategy Committee and other representatives also were elected. Click here to view a complete listing.

Delegates also passed three resolutions during General Session. They include a resolution supporting free public higher education in the CSU, support for April 4th “Educators United With Our Communities” Day, and a resolution in support of AFL-CIO constituent groups. Click here to view the resolutions.

Click here to view a photo gallery from the 85th Assembly.