Theresa Taylor wins CalPERS election

Theresa Taylor has been announced as the preliminary winner of the State Employees seat on the CalPERS Board of Administration, according to unofficial election results.

Taylor received 12,888 votes—55 percent of the valid votes cast during the one-month voting period, according to a CalPERS news release.

“I am truly honored by the support I received from state employees,” Taylor said. “I greatly appreciated the support of the California Faculty Association and enjoyed meeting with CFA members at San Jose State and SFSU. I am ready to serve and pledge to protect the health care and retirement security of all CalPERS members.”

Taylor and Priya Mathur, who was re-elected to the public agency seat on the board according to unofficial results, will serve 4-year terms that begin on January 16, 2015.

Taylor will replace outgoing CalPERS board member George Diehr, a CSU San Marcos faculty member. Diehr served on the board 12 years, including stints as vice president and chair of the investments committee.